5 minutes with an ECE Alumna: Helen Goodwin – ABPmer

Helen Goodwin – ABPmer

  1. Where are you from, when did you do the ECE and what did you most enjoy about it?

I am originally from Cheltenham and did the course from helengoodwin2013-2014 having previously studied
Environmental Science at Plymouth University. I enjoyed so much about the course, having always been interested in the coastal environment but the opportunity to learn more about coastal processes and modelling was definitely the highlight for me, and helped me realise the kind of career I wanted to pursue once the course finished.

2. What have you been up to since?

I am now working in the modelling team at ABPmer in Southampton.

3. What does a day in your working life involve?

My role involves many different things, but predominantly I assist in the building of Mike and Delft models for a range of different projects, considering the effects of features such as jetty structures and breaches on the various processes within coastal and estuarine settings. I also carry out some of the processing of model outputs ready for client reports. The people I work with have been brilliant and I have gained a vast amount of knowledge and new skills in the time I have been there.

4. Have you any advice to ECE students that have only just started the course, or recently graduated?

My main piece of advice is to work hard. When it comes to your dissertation, if you have an idea of what you would like to do, then start talking to lecturers as soon as you can, it makes things a lot easier later on. When looking for a job, start looking around early and try not to limit yourself too much as there are many jobs out there in the industry that you may not have realised existed. And finally persevere, if you don’t find the job you want straight away don’t worry. It took me some time to find the job I have now but it was definitely worth the wait!

Leave a Reply

