Jack Zee, ECE alumnus writes for the blog:

Greeting to the reader of ECE Blog!

I am deeply honored to be given the opportunity to write an entry for the blog. First, allow me to give a brief introduction of myself – I am Jack, originating from Malaysia and belong to class of 2013/2014. While it is great to pick up an extensive set of knowledge on coastal engineering, I personally reckon the best part of the course is to get to know a diverse group of friends from all over the world: China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Germany, Brazil, and the UK. You would have imagined the fun of working with people from different backgrounds of cultures and mindset, and this have been truly enlightening. You may have asked about the least enjoyable part of the course? Frankly, I can’t think of any other than the long bus trip from my hostel (at Highfield) to the NOC!

Upon graduated from ECE, I pursue the career of coastal marine engineer at the Danish Hydraulic Institute (DHI). The given scope of work revolves around project management, numerical modeling, met-ocean data analysis, field data collection, and deliver training in using numerical modelling tools. For the time being, I am leading two river mouth improvement studies and one on optimizing beach nourishment – located in South East Asia.

My advice to the ECE students whom just started the course, or recently graduated? Have the gut to get out of your comfort zone! If, for instance, you’re not comfortable on going out to the field to collect data, tried it. There are immense rewards and satisfaction awaiting you. The coastal engineering field is so huge that it would take some time (or a lifetime) to learn the whole of it. So, go out and explore!

While it is too mainstream to share a picture from the ECE classes, I have a picture showing me and the ECE mates partying down at Sobar (our self-proclaimed favorite party venue for ECE students).

jack

Leave a Reply

